Awards copy

Legion of Honor

Polish Falcons of America, by a resolution adopted at a Special Convention held on Nov. 26-28, 1925 in Detroit, Mich., created a meritorious decoration known as the “Falcon Service Cross.” PFA Members honored with the decoration form the Legion of Honor.

The purpose of the Legion of Honor is the preservation and fostering of the noble ideals, principles, traditions, precepts and customs of the Falcon Order, as defined by its founders and originators. Those PFA Members entitled/qualified for the honor are the deserving men and women, who by their untiring sacrifice, have worked within the Falcons and among Polonia gaining respect and esteem. They have also shown integrity and an unimpeachable character to obtain the finest reputation amongst all Members.

There are three levels of Legion of Honor awards: bronze, silver and gold. A period of five full years of service must pass between awards. To be eligible for a Legion of Honor award, candidates must hold Star of Merit awards at all three levels. These, likewise, have been awarded by National Headquarters upon the recommendation of the Nest, District or National Headquarters.

Star of Merit

Star of Merit awards are presented to those PFA Members who are recommended for recognition by their Nest, District or National Headquarters. There are three levels of Star of Merit awards: bronze, silver and gold. In order to be eligible for the Bronze Star of Merit, a PFA Member must belong at least three years and be active and render services to the Nest or District for the entire three years, and must be at least 19 years of age. After another five years of active service, a Member may then qualify for the Silver Star of Merit. Then, if the Member still continues such activities for another five years, a Gold Star of Merit application may be submitted.

National Dues must be paid at least five years prior to the submission date of an awards application. If one is only 19 and receiving a Bronze Star of Merit, that time frame is two years (because one is not billed for National Dues until 18 years of age).

The Service Star Awards do not need the approval of the District or the Legion of Honor Commandery. Applications are submitted by the Nest or District Awards Committee, then approved by the National Executive Board only. Five years following the presentation of the Gold Star of Merit, a Member is eligible to be nominated to receive the Bronze Legion of Honor award.

Fraternalist of the Year

The Fraternalist of the Year award is an honor presented by PFA on a National level to recognize a Member who, through example and accomplishment, has provided outstanding volunteer service to his or her Nest and community in the past year.

Nominees for the Fraternalist of the Year award must be living at the time of selection and must be an Insured Benefit Member in good standing. PFA National Executive Officers, National Directors and the National Headquarters office staff are not eligible to receive the award. PFA Members can only be nominated by their Nest or District. Nominees of any age are eligible. Members can be nominated more than once, but the award can only be won once per Member.

Information regarding awards

For more information regarding awards, please contact Patricia Del Busse at 800-535-2071 or by email at