VP Trish: 2021 Gorecki Scholarship Recipients

Richard C. Gorecki Scholarship Program

At the recently held Board of Directors meeting, the decision of the Independent Committee was approved. The Committee had been sent copies of all of the applications and met via Zoom. After discussion, the three who have been chosen to receive $10,000.00 are:

Szymon Kutyla-Nest 946, District I. Szymon is attending Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School with a major in Molecular Biology & Biochemistry with a GPA of 3.853.

Roman Lipinski-Nest 45, District II. Roman is attending Indiana University Bloomington with a major in Information Systems/Supply Chain Management and a minor in Chinese with a GPA of 3.526.

Samantha Logan-Nest 118, District IV. Samantha is attending Penn State University with a major in Veterinary & Biomedical Science and a minor in Psychology with a GPA of 3.710.

Congratulations to all of you! Best wishes to all in their academic endeavors.

There were eight applicants, two females and six males. Districts I, II & IV were represented. They were from Nests 3, 8, 45(2), 118, 176, 827 & 946.

All applicants have been contacted regarding the decision of the Independent Committee and the Board.

Each of the applicants had been active within the Polish Falcons, at least on a Nest level.

Speaking of scholarships, each month Genevieve Borovicka of Nest 97 donates $10.00; Druhna has done this close to 320 times! Druhna does this in appreciation of her grandchildren receiving grants (quite a while ago).

A little bird told me that Druhna Genevieve will be celebrating her 100th Birthday on July 3! It would be so nice to send her a birthday card. If you are interested in doing so, please send to Genevieve Borovicka, C/O Polish Falcons, Nest 97, 200 6th Street, Windber, PA 15963.

Have a wonderful summer!

VP Trish: 2021 Starzynski Scholarship Recipients

The National Board of Directors met last weekend. At this meeting, the recipients of the Dr. T.A. Starzynski Scholarship Program were chosen. It gives me great pleasure to list the following for the 2021-2022 school years.

Congratulations to all!

Samantha Smith of Nest 610, Erie, Pa., was selected as the Mary Kus recipient.

Samantha will receive $3,000.00!

The following were chosen for the Achievement Category…

Each will receive $1750.00!

  • Victoria Baliga – Nest 36, Southwestern CT, District V
  • Jonathan Gable – Nest 8, Pittsburgh, PA, District IV
  • Robert Lewicki – Nest 36, Southwestern CT, District V
  • Sophia Starzynski – Nest 946, Sommerville, NJ, District I
  • Nolan Witt – Nest 6, Buffalo, NY, District IX

The Involvement Category included the following…

Each will receive $1250.00!

  • Ella Futch – Nest 52, Rochester, NY, District IX
  • Emma Karczewski – Nest 80, South Bend, IN, District VI
  • Adrian Sierzega – Nest 956, Ozone Park, NY, District I
  • Jessica Sierzega – Nest 956, Ozone Park, NY, District I

There were two in the General Category…

Each will receive $800.00!

  • Sylvia Lemanski – Nest 36, Southwestern CT, District V
  • Ava Catherine Yobst – Nest 176, Pittsburgh, PA, District IV

Districts represented this year: I, IV, V, VI & IX

The applicants are representing nine Nests: 6, 8, 36, 52, 80, 176, 610, 946 & 956

Members of the Scholarship Committee: Trish Del Busse (Chairperson), Mark Albin, Patty Capozoli, Dan Michalak & Chris Puskar


VP Trish: 2020 Gorecki Recipients

It pleases me to share the decision of the independent Richard C. Gorecki Scholarship Committee. Their decision was approved by the Polish Falcons of America Board of Directors at our meeting held last weekend.

First of all, the Independent Committee is comprised of five very special individuals who so generously give of their time and expertise and choose our recipients.

They are:

  • Mary Louise Ellena-Wygonik – President of the Kosciuszko Foundation, teaches at LaRoche University
  • Robert Tierney – Vice President of the Ireland Institute of Pittsburgh
  • Kevin Richards – Youth Director for Slovene National Benefit Society
  • Jolanta Lion – Director of the CMU International Film Festival, Assistant Director of The Humanities Center, teaches Polish at CMU
  • Susan Wuchenich Parker – Member of the Serb National Federation, Associate Professor of Early Childhood & Special Education teaching at Robert Morris University

After much discussion, they chose:

  • Mateusz Conrado – Nest 79, District XIII (since he is a Nest 79 Member, he will receive $11,000). His major is Nursing, attending Grand Valley State University with a GPA of 3.4.
  • Matthew Dutczak – Nest 42, District II. His major is Masters of Wind Band Conducting with a GPA of 3.6, and he is attending the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
  • Timothy Eckert – Nest 907, District II. He is currently attending the Liberty University College of Medicine as a Graduate student. His GPA is 3.9.

The Independent Committee reviewed and discussed and as is the usual, they were extremely impressed with all of the applicants.

The Scholarship Committee of the PFA Board of Directors is:

  • Patricia Del Busse – Chairperson
  • Patricia Capozoli – District IV Director
  • Edward Ciesla – District I Director
  • John Kowarik – District V Director
  • Thomas Washington – District VII Director

Thank you all for everything you do for our Scholarship Programs!